

Department of Policy and Business Practices

# **Banking Commission Technical Meeting Paris 2019**

## 27th MEETING OF THE LEGAL COMMITTEE

[Attendance strictly restricted to Legal Committee members and appointed observers]

**Date:** 8 October 2019, 9:30 am – 1:00 pm (Paris time)

[note NEW] Venue: Clyde & Co LLP, 134 Boulevard Haussmann, 75008 Paris

#### Agenda

- 1. Welcome and opening remarks by the Chair.
- **2. Appointment of recorder for the meeting** (in the alphabetical order of the list of members, Patrick Eberhardt).
- 3. Review and adoption of the report of the 26<sup>th</sup> meeting and of the agenda for this 27th meeting.
- **4. Keynote Speaker: Jenny Giotaki**, Senior Legal Counsel, European Banking Authority, followed by Q&A (Chatham House rules apply).
- 5. Brexit and trade finance.

Rapporteur: Lorna Strong (10 mn). Discussion.

6. Synthetic L/Cs in the wake of *Fortis Bank (Nederland) N.V. v Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank* 2010 NY Slip Op 52415(U).

Rapporteur: Philippe Berta (10 mn). Reply Robert Parson (5 mn). Discussion.

7. Effectiveness of recourse events in receivables financing, including deferred payment LCs.

**Rapporteur:** Andrew Tam (10 mn). **Reply** Sonja Straessle Dillier (5 mn). **Discussion.** 

- 8. Progress report on on-going projects of the Legal Committee (subject to rapporteurs participating in the meeting) -2 mn per report:
  - a. BRRD article 55: an update from Ron van Staten (joining by telephone).
  - b. Legal Committee webpage: an update from Eleonore Treu.
  - c. Payment undertakings: report by Geoff Wynne (joining by telephone).
  - d. Anti-assignment clauses: report by Dr Hans Kuhn.
  - e. Digital trade documents: report by Ron, Lorna and Eleonore.
- 9. Report on other ICC Banking Commission task forces and groups:



Department of Policy and Business Practices

**Philippe Berta** on Financial Crime Risk and Policy Group, **Geoff Wynne** on Uniform Rules for Digital Trade, **Georges Affaki** on ISDGP.

**10. Governance matters.** Observers who have completed one year and attended at least two meetings of the Legal Committee may apply for full membership.

## 11. Any other business.

[Rapporteurs intending to use visual aids or to refer to background reading material are invited to send them in advance].

# Members, observers and guests registered for in-person attendance of the meeting

- 1. Frieder Bauer,
- 2. Philippe Berta,
- 3. Tabitha Coombe,
- 4. Patrick Eberhardt,
- 5. Sean Edwards,
- 6. Ahmed El Hadidi,
- 7. Annette Köhler,
- 8. Natalia Muina Merino,
- 9. Esther Nin Camps,
- 10. Robert Parson,
- 11. Daniel Rodriguez,
- 12. Cristina Rooth,
- 13. Mary Rosen,
- 14. Sonja Straessle Dillier,
- 15. Lorna Strong,
- 16. Marco Tagliaferri,
- 17. Eleonore Treu,
- 18. Kellie Ann Scott,
- 19. Hans Kuhn,
- 20. Ron van Staten,
- 21. Andrew Tam.
- 22. Jenny Giotaki,
- 23. Georges Affaki.